We can hear a song a thousand times, know it, love it, but still it is just a song.  Then one day it comes on and time stops, your heart yearns and your soul glows.  The Boxer by Simon and Garfunkel just hit me like that.  It tugs at my soul wanting to be heard again and again.  However, I didn’t see why it was speaking to me so loudly until I really listened to this last verse

In the clearing stands a boxer
And a fighter by his trade
And he carries the reminders
Of ev’ry glove that laid him down
Or cut him till he cried out
In his anger and his shame
“I am leaving, I am leaving”
But the fighter still remains

I used to be a quiet girl, a peacekeeper just a watcher and a listener.  Always ready to help others, but never ready to take a stand.  Over the years though,  I’ve become a Boxer…a fighter by trade.  I’m tired.  It’s exhausting losing more rounds than I’ve won.  I remember every blow that has laid me out and I remember every time I’ve stood back up only to get knocked back down.  I may not know yet how to win, but my heart is strong and I will get up again and again.  Every.Time.  I may cry out in my own anger and shame.  I may want to give in and just stay down, but I am a fighter.  It’s who I have had to become for myself and the people I love most.  I will remain.

What song is speaking to your soul right now?  What song is helping you discover yourself?

 

