October of last year I was given the honor of performing the wedding ceremony for my sister and her husband.  I was so honored to be asked to stand up and honor their love and commitment to one another on that day.  For their anniversary I wanted to share with everyone parts of the ceremony they shared with their loved ones that day.  I wish for them many more years of love.  

 

Welcome family and friends. Thank you for being here this beautiful fall evening to share with Brandon and Heidi as they join together as husband and wife.

Brandon. Heidi.

I am so honored to be here this evening to stand up with you and to witness and celebrate with you on the first day of the rest of your lives together. On this day I don’t only stand here as your officiant, but also as Heidi’s sister. Having the honor to give her away to the man she has chosen to love and who in return has chosen her also as his own. So, Brandon, today I give you my sister. Love her, cherish her and protect her heart always as I know she will do for you also. I love you both.

This ceremony is all about family…it is what happens when two people come together in love. So, we aren’t only honoring and celebrating the union of Brandon and Heidi, but also the bonding of a new family. Later this evening as you take time to congratulate the newlyweds remember to also congratulate their amazing children who are also making a commitment to one another to be the best brothers and sisters they can be to each other. To always look out for and support one another as they build new memories together. I would like to be the first to say to them…congratulations and welcome to this new family.

As you continue holding hands I would like to share with you this beautiful passage I read once. I’m not sure who wrote it, but it is so fitting in this time.

These are the hands of your best friend, young and strong
and full of love, that hold yours on your wedding day.

These are the hands that will work along side yours
as you build your future together.

These are the hands that will passionately love you
and care for you throughout the years.

These are the hands that will hold you when fear or grief torments your mind
and with the slightest touch, will comfort you like no other.

These are the hands that will give you strength when you struggle,
and support and encouragement to chase down your dreams.

These are the hands that will, countless times, wipe the tears from your eyes,
tears of sorrow, and tears of joy.

And lastly, these are the hands that even when wrinkled with age,
will still be reaching for yours,
still giving you the same unspoken tenderness with just a touch
a touch from these hands.

And now, in as much as Brandon and Heidi have consented together in marriage,…and pledged their love and faithfulness to each other…

Brandon you may kiss your bride.

It is with great honor and so much happiness that I present to you all for the first time:

Mr. and Mrs. Phillips

heidi-and-brandon

