20151204_172539Everything changes…

Walking down the street, you encounter a folded piece of paper on the sidewalk. You pick it up and read it and immediately, your life has changed. Describe this experience.

 

It was a snippet of a love letter. The paper soft from being opened and refolded so many times over the years. Some words slightly blurred from the saltiness of dried tears. Memories of a happy time filled with love and hope for a future together. An intimacy shared by two people who had given one another their hearts. Had these words and this time they were written been forgotten?

I don’t believe so…I can’t.  I believe they fought for one another. When times were hard and things looked bleak these words were read again and again, softening any pain or hurt.  I believe these words reminded how much love they shared. I believe they never gave up on each other. They believed in their love and they believed in each other.

When you love, truly love, it never really goes away. Being in love means accepting someone for everything they are, believing in them and lifting them when they stumble. Love means sharing yourself with someone completely – all the good and all the bad. It is saying I am yours and you are mine…for always.

Everything changed when I read this love letter…it reminded me. You love me and I love you. It really is that simple. Trust in me to protect your heart and I will trust in you to protect mine. Because I always have and always will.

 

