Happy Holiday Season!

It is that time of the year when we are suppose to glow with love and joy of the season.  It is the time to remember one another and show our appreciation for having each other in of lives.  It is a time to reach out our hands to strangers, family and friends alike who need a little lift.  This is the time we should remember that bringing a smile to someone else will bring one to us in return.

Everyone forgets at some point though.  We get caught up in the hustle and bustle of the season.  We overstress ourselves trying to juggle regular life (for some reason work doesn’t want to give us all two months off with pay – go figure) along with holiday commitments, shopping, baking, entertaining and being jolly non-stop.  We get so excited for this time of the year to get here and then can’t wait to slow down and breathe when it’s over.

christmas vacation quote

For some of us the extended family time, while we love seeing our loved ones, can go on and on and on.  Different people keep popping by or coming to dinners and family events – doesn’t anyone else work!?  It’s hard to entertain constantly and we maybe forget that our company doesn’t really want us to.  They would probably love to just sit and enjoy the holiday for a bit without us planning every moment they are here…trying to fill it with what we think they need for holiday cheer.  For others, the gifts can be our own burden.  We save and budget for months; calculating how much we can spend and feeling guilty that it isn’t enough for each person.  For EACH PERSON…I don’t know about everyone, but my list goes on for days.  And while I like the ideas of picking a family member or one family to gift for, I still want to show my love for all my nieces and nephews, brothers and sisters, parents and grandparents.  So I do it all, and I know each year it will stretch my budget and overwhelm me (hoping to get something they love – or at least like) until I want to pull my hair out.  Speaking of wanting to pull my hair out, looking at my calendar from Halloween through New Years does that instantly.  There is not a week where we don’t have one two three or ten things planned.  Did I mention I work twelve hour shifts over night…averaging 50 hours a week.  Yet I will squeeze every holiday tree lighting, craft fair, yule tide caroling event in that I can for my family to enjoy together.  And maybe they would enjoy just staying in drinking hot cocoa with homemade peppermint whip cream and watching movies together by the fireplace, but  the Christmas spirit is out there in all these events…right?

My list of holiday craziness could go on and on, but I’m sure everyone has their own to add as well.  This year though I am going to try and remember the joy this time of year should bring.  I am going to welcome family visits and not worry about organizing every detail of every meal or outing.  I am going to try and remember it truly is ‘the thought that counts’ and not stress over how much I spend on each child or family member, but just get them something that will remind them they are in my heart and thoughts.  I can’t change my work schedule, but I can change my personal schedule.  I am going to cancel some things and remember it is the time spent not the event that truly matters to the people we care for.  And, finally, I am going to remember everyone else is struggling this year.  In the hustle and bustle I will smile at that grumpy person not singing to the carols in the market, I will let the stressed looking mom go ahead of me when they open a new check stand at Target (even if she has more items) and I will reach out to others in any small way I can to restore any faith in the season possible for someone else.

Happy Holidays to you all and may your season be full of more cheer than stress.

 

 

