“Without music, life would be a mistake.”

— Friedrich Nietzsche

I’m sure everyone has had that feeling of hearing a song and immediately being transported back to another time or another place. It’s as though traveling through time as an observer.  Music has a way of becoming one with our souls, I believe.  Sometimes the songs of our soul may be from happy times, devastating times or bittersweet times.  No matter where they are from though those memories and now those songs are our own.  I would like to share with you some of my own.

  1. Several songs actually by They Might Be Giants, but this one in particular.  Takes me back to two memories.  First, when my husband and I were dating and we took a spontaneous road trip to Vegas we listened to this repeatedly.  It was one of the best trips I have ever been on.  And second, to my wedding day.  This is the song we walked back down the aisle together as husband and wife.  She’s an Angel
  2. When we were younger my sister and I called an oldies radio station to have them play a song for my mom.  We thought it was an oldies because she loved it, but they told us it was too new of a song to play on their station.  This one takes me back to our little house with the old brown couch watching my mom and thinking she was so beautiful as she sang and danced around. Kim Carnes – Bette Davis Eyes
  3. When my forever dog was a puppy he was very sick and had to have several surgeries.  I remember holding him and singing this to him after each one.  Again the night he passed to the other side of the rainbow bridge I held him and sang and sang this.  It is a bittersweet memory, but one I cherish.  Bob Marley – Three Little Birds
  4. A fourth song takes me back again to my husband when we were dating (but just barely) and we had several obstacles early on in our relationship to overcome.  We were driving in a van full of clients for our day program we worked at and this song came on.  I remember him glancing at me and gently brushing against my hand.  Reminds me how much I love him and how much we have fought for our love to last.  Plus, just love me some G ‘N’ R now and then. Patience
  5. This song played a few times when I was driving home from June Lake after moving there briefly.  It is where I often still wish I was and now on every return trip I play it as tribute. NOFX – Eat the Meek

There are so many others, but these are five that I thought I would share with everyone today.  Please share with me some of yours and the stories that go with them.

